Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Welcome to the Starfish Room

Our Nursery Rules

We look after ourselves.

We look after each other.

We look after our nursery. 

 Our Curriculum

The Starfish Curriculum follows the EYFS Statutory Framework 

Click below to view our Long Term Curriculum Plan.

 Starfish Long Term Plan.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1

Our Topics For The Year 

Autumn 1 - Knowing Me/Knowing You

Autumn 2 - Feeling Fantastic!

Spring 1 - Wonderful Winter

Spring 2 - Time For A Rhyme

Summer 1 - Colour Me A Rainbow

Summer 2 - Born To Be Wild 

Click  below to view our half termly Learning Objectives

 Starfish Autumn 1 Plans.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1
 Starfish Autumn 2 plans.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1
 Starfish Spring 1 plans.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1
 Starfish Spring 2 plans.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1
 Starfish Summer 1.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1
 Starfish Summer 2.pdfDownload
Showing 1-1 of 1

In the Starfish Room, much of our learning is based on children's interests and we work alongside them whilst they play in order to develop their skills, knowledge and understanding. The resources and experiences available to them cover all seven areas of learning and development although we focus more on the Prime Areas of Learning as these are the foundations on which all other learning is based. 

The Prime Areas Of Learning.

 The prime areas of learning and development are - 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

The specific areas provide the range of experiences and opportunities for children to broaden their knowledge and skills:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Why the prime areas are ‘prime...' 

The prime areas are fundamental to children's successful learning in the specific areas. The specific areas cannot be encountered in isolation from communication and language or personal, social, emotional and physical development since children always experience the world through communication and also through physical and sensory involvement. A strong foundation in the prime areas is essential as evidence shows that, if it is not securely in place by age five, it holds children back in other areas of learning and development.